About Opus 76


Bringing Haydn, Beethoven & Mozart to the Community


Opus 76 is a String Quartet for the Community of Kansas City. Made up of four Kansas City based professional musicians, Opus 76 offers a series of free concerts centering on the Classical Masterworks of Haydn, Beethoven and Mozart, in addition to educational outreach.

By offering these concerts free of charge, making them last an hour or less, allowing people to use their social media and record the performance (in a manner respectful to others), by providing some light post concert refreshments free of charge as well as an opportunity for the audience to share them with the performers, we hope to have removed all obstacles to attending and benefiting from a Classical Music performance. 

We want to give everyone in our community a chance to regularly hear exciting performances of music which has influenced our own lives, and the lives of countless others over the centuries. And we will do this in the most accessible way possible - to provide all in Kansas City, regardless of background or income level, with the maximum possible benefit.

How We Met


We met continually bumping into one another during their work as Kansas City Orchestral Musicians. Many carpool and post rehearsal fast food runs later, we became great friends too! We really enjoy making music together and hanging out - the perfect ingredients for any String Quartet.

Creating Opus 76


We wanted to try playing by ourselves, and do something different for the local community at the same time. Looking at the various community and small professional orchestras in the region, we admired the things they did for their communities and the manner in which they were supported. Inspired by them, we thought about trying to achieve a similar goal in a slightly different way - with a String Quartet rather than a whole orchestra, playing music that we love in our own style.

And that's how Opus 76 came to be.